But is it for ME?

I just got off a conference call with my amazing, incredible Sales Director. She is both mentor and friend, and for me, epitomizes success in this business I’ve chosen. She always has wonderful words of wisdom, but tonight, she really hit home. So I’m passing along her wisdom to all of you.

She was talking about setting goals and achieving success. Something we all want to do, right? I mean, I can’t think of anybody who might be reading who WANTS to be a miserable failure. (If you do, however, want to be a miserable failure, might I suggest you find another blog to read?) She got a laugh out of all of us when she talked about setting a goal and then sitting and waiting for it to happen. That’s how it works right? You set a goal and it magically comes to pass?

I think we all know the answer to that. You have to WORK for your goals. Big or small, professional or personal, you have to set a goal and then get to work achieving it. The challenge comes in what our brains tell us about achieving goals. And this is where it gets a little emotional for me. So bear with me a bit, will you?

When I was younger, I never felt like enough. I wasn’t smart enough, or pretty enough, or determined enough, or hardworking enough. Why couldn’t I be more like this or that person? I remember feeling not good enough as young as eight years old. And those feelings of inadequacy have stayed with me for decades.

What my mentor said tonight that really hit me was this: Why would you allow that young child to determine how your life is going today? Eight year old you has no idea what 30-whatever year old you is capable of. But you’re letting a frightened, insecure child determine what you are doing, or not doing, with your life.

That hit me. Hard.

I absolutely, unequivocally believe in my business. I believe that great success is possible in this business. I believe tremendous things can happen via this business. My challenge is believing it FOR ME. I’ve seen others make huge amounts of money. I’ve seen others earn fabulous prizes. I’ve seen others earn trips around the world, diamond jewelry, and free cars. I know it can be done.

Now I have to put a frightened, insecure eight year old to rest, and start knowing that I can do it, too.  I have to believe it, not just in general, but FOR ME.

About krissjudd

30-something with fascinating health seeks blog for sporadic rambling, ranting, regaling, revivifying, and rabble rousing. Occasionally finds time to chime in with a rhyme. Knows when they're there with their noes about a nose. Brevity may be the soul of wit, but my soul yearns to milk every significance and nuance from the words with which I love to play.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to But is it for ME?

  1. Shari says:

    I am honored to be included in your blog and to be called a mentor! Start with what you already KNOW… Can you have a Grand Day? Yes!! Can you teach a class/party? Yes!! Can you have a $300 Week? Yes!! Then start with believing you CAN do those things OVER & OVER and THEN… DO THEM!!! Each step forward is a STEP FORWARD so just start stepping in the “shoes” you already know are comfy!! I BELIEVE YOU CAN!!! Do you??

Leave a Reply

