I’m great!

Last Monday, I went out running errands before going to my weekly business meeting.  And I was thoroughly….braced.  Very, very braced.  Both ankles, both knees, and my back.  Couldn’t use a cane, much less the two I needed, as my shoulders had joined my lower joints on strike.  So I wobbled along very, very slowly.

I got my share of strange looks.  Folks don’t expect that level of non-mobility when they see a cute 30-something standing around.  Especially not one with a big grin on her face.  I just kept that grin dialed up, nodded and said hi, and hobbled along on my merry way.

One older gentleman asked me, in a voice full of concern, if he could help me with anything.  “Oh, no sir, thank you….I’m doing great!”  He apparently decided I’d taken leave of my senses, as he incredulously asked if I was sure.  “Yessir, I’m doing great!”

Now, was I doing great physically?  No, of course not.  I was in a fair amount of pain and not entirely sure I wasn’t going to fall over.  So did I lie to that helpful old man?  Nope.  I’d decided that I was great….so I was.

Attitude is everything, goes the saying.  And it’s the absolute truth.  I look at it this way:  I could be hobbling around Harris Teeter in pain and being miserable, or I could be hobbling around Harris Teeter in pain and being happy.  Either way, I’m hobbling around Harris Teeter in pain.  So I choose to be happy.  I choose to be great.

And I am!

About krissjudd

30-something with fascinating health seeks blog for sporadic rambling, ranting, regaling, revivifying, and rabble rousing. Occasionally finds time to chime in with a rhyme. Knows when they're there with their noes about a nose. Brevity may be the soul of wit, but my soul yearns to milk every significance and nuance from the words with which I love to play.
This entry was posted in speed bumps. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

